The Ultimate Brokeback Forum

Author Topic: First Night in the Tent  (Read 557079 times)

Offline Melisande

• Chief Moderator
  • Obsessed
    • LiveJournal
First Night in the Tent
« on: January 08, 2006, 06:42:46 PM »
Go for it.

Ennis did.
« Last Edit: May 16, 2006, 06:29:13 AM by peteinportland »
let be, let be

knightmare

Re: First Night in the Tent
« Reply #1 on: January 08, 2006, 06:45:04 PM »
Ok... my first impression?  Yeah, right.  He just dove in there... wouldn't that hurt?  Or did I miss something?

Offline Scott88

• Experienced
« Reply #2 on: January 08, 2006, 06:58:36 PM »
Ennis spit in his hand before "going in", but yeah, it wouldn't have been the most comfortable for Jack. ;)

knightmare

« Reply #3 on: January 08, 2006, 07:00:50 PM »
Well, being a slash writer, I realize I'm not the most knowledgeable about the subject, but I am in a far better position, information wise, than most.

And I winced.  So did my movie viewing partner.  Cause spit just don't hack it as a lubricant. 

As far as the emotions there, I liked how almost violent the coupling was.  It was a spur of the moment thing, although I got the impression (and remember, I haven't read the short story yet *pokes Mel*) that Jack had been thinking about it for some time.

Offline Melisande

• Chief Moderator
  • Obsessed
    • LiveJournal
« Reply #4 on: January 08, 2006, 07:11:23 PM »
Ow!

It's a little different in the story.
let be, let be

Offline mary

• Moderator Emerita
  • Moderator Emeritus
  • Obsessed
« Reply #5 on: January 08, 2006, 07:16:26 PM »
One difference between the book and the film that I noticed and wondered about it;

in the book, I believe Ennis starts out in the tent, but not sharing the bedroll with Jack:

"Too late to go out to them damn sheep," said Ennis, dizzy drunk on all fours one cold hour when the moon had notched past two. ..... "Got you a extra blanket I'll roll up out here and grab forty winks, ride out at first light."